An example of how to “forgive” those that have hurt you

Posted: March 18, 2017 in Articles, Freedom, Religion
Tags: ,

Matthew 6:15:  But if you refuse to forgive others, your Father will not forgive your sins.”

People often ask me how I am able to “forgive” when I don’t feel like it. 

 Below is a prayer that I sent to a young person that has been through some hurtful situations lately. 

 God put this person on my heart so I reached out with the following as directed by Him and I hope that it helps someone. I started out saying this prayer and now I’m able to simply tell people that offend me that I forgive them to their face as I’ve grown if the situation warrants it or if God tells me to but know that the most important thing is to seek God and forgive the person to HIM in the very least as it may not always be a goodIdea to reapproach a person who is “hell” bent (literally…that is what it is) on hurting you. Again, I pray that this helps:

“(Content withheld) God put you on my heart with the forgiveness post that I put up specifically. You have to forgive those that have hurt you recently. This doesn’t mean that you forget what they did and continue to allow them to hurt you but you have got to forgive them. I always try to pray similar to this when doing what I’m speaking of here;  

Lord Jesus, You know that this person (name) or group (could be your work, a church or whatever entity) has hurt me and You know that I’m still hurting about what they did to me. I forgive them NOT because I feel like it but because of obedience to You and Your word. I pray for them right now through my hurt and ask You to bless them though I want to do nothing but curse them right now. Lord forgive me of wanting to not forgive them also as I want to be forgiven on the day of Your return. I lay this hurt (name it…what they did or that you perceive that they did to you) at Your feel Jesus for You to deal with on my behalf and I trust You to do it and when I don’t trust You in my heart for it please help me in my untrust. I thank You for the victory over this hurt and I love You Jesus and it’s in Your Holy Name I pray sweet Jesus. Amen!”

I urge anyone in a situation concerning unforgiveness to practice this since if we don’t forgive we won’t be forgiven by God. I have numerous people in my life (family members included) that I no longer communicate with due to the toxicity that they bring into my life but I have forgiven them and I can now through healing from Jesus over the years be cordial to YET ONLY interact with them due to their toxicity when God directs me to.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

