Will you hang out with a “Sinner”?

Posted: August 11, 2017 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , ,

Mark 2:13-17: (NIV)Jesus Calls Levi and Eats With Sinners

13 Once again Jesus went out beside the lake. A large crowd came to him, and he began to teach them. 14 As he walked along, he saw Levi son of Alphaeus sitting at the tax collector’s booth. “Follow me,” Jesus told him, and Levi got up and followed him.

15 While Jesus was having dinner at Levi’s house, many tax collectors and sinners were eating with him and his disciples, for there were many who followed him. 16 When the teachers of the law who were Pharisees saw him eating with the sinners and tax collectors, they asked his disciples: “Why does he eat with tax collectors and sinners?”

17 On hearing this, Jesus said to them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

I’m always amazed at how Christians shun those who do not share their faith when the very charter of said faith IS that we must emulate or “do what Jesus did” (if you will) and engage them so that through us (willing vessels) the pure, beautiful, life changing light of Jesus can penetrate their dark world and draw them to Him.

We are suppose to emulate our Lord as best we can at the level of grace that we are at yet far too often God has shown me that Christians (myself included) shun the very people that they have been mandated to help.

As we can see from the scriptures above that Jesus did not shun anyone and regularly hung out with “sinners” and people who were “disreputable” according to the religious people of His day.

Fast forward to current day and all throughout the history of our faith we see the same pattern of “religiousness” played out today as God’s people routinely showers the world with vitriolic rhetoric and quite often hateful comments instead of showering the world with the same love that Jesus showed us when we were still steeped in our sin (some of us are still there…we just look good and Christian in our church clothes).

It seems that in our “holiness” we in the faith sometimes get off track and get so offended at how the world acts that we forget that it is THEY who WE are here FOR, that WE are no better than THEM for “all have sinned and have fallen short of the glory of God (except for our relationship with God through Christ Jesus), and that God still loves each and every one of THEM and desires that “NONE should perish”.

Getting back to the scriptures above we see that Jesus ate with sinners so we can surmise that at these meals He laughed with them, He conversed with them, and since we know that many among them had issues He also cried and grieved with them yet WE walk around in a religious fog behaving as if we shouldn’t do the same.

As I close I’ll leave you with what God impressed upon me to write this today with and that is “son…meet them where they are at as I did with you”.

God didn’t wait until I acted “perfectly” (trust me..still don’t) or until I behaved like the Christian that others think I should be in THEIR eyes.

He first lured me in through people (watch this) who were simply kind to me who never preached one word of the gospel to me yet their kindness and the lives that they lived intrigued me to ask them questions about why they were so kind to me…THEN they were able to speak on Jesus!

Through a twenty year process they ate with me, cried with me when tragedy befell me, prayed with and/or for me EVEN when I shunned them (sometimes cussed them for it) or told them not to, and it was through this long process of interaction that the many showed me enough of Christ Jesus that I eventually decided to see if He was indeed real for myself and as you can now see…I KNOW THAT HE IS!!!

Sadly, the Christians that most hindered me from seeking after Jesus were the fake, phony, Holy in front of everyone but a devil in the dark (I saw them though because I was there too), looking down at a sinner, and if don’t join my church now Christians who I viewed as not much different than the “hoods”, thugs, and criminals that I knew from “da hood”.

Which “Christian” will you be today?

Shed off all of the religion and show the world Jesus by meeting them where they are at.
This doesn’t mean that you have to become like them and do what they do.  NO…if they hang around a Holy man, woman, or child of God long enough God will use YOU to change THEIR atmosphere and YOU will infect them with Jesus instead of them being able to corrupt you.

Lastly, ensure that you do what Jesus did by staying “prayed up”  before encountering the darkness of the world and ensure that each sojourn that you make is led by His Holy Spirit.

May the peace of Jesus be with you today in all that you do.
Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

